Below you find the department's primary faculty. Use the navigation on the left to access our administrative officers, adjunct faculty, students, and other department members.

Faculty

When available, faculty member names have been linked to more detailed pages.


Katalin Bimbo

Katalin Bimbó, Associate Professor (PhD, Indiana University, Bloomington)

Specialization: Logic (philosophical, mathematical, computational) and Foundations of Mathematics, Philosophy of Computer Science and Informatics. 
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-69, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: bimbo@ualberta.ca

Ingo Brigandt

Ingo Brigandt, Associate Professor (PhD, University of Pittsburgh)

Specialization: Philosophy of Biology, Philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Language, Epistemology, History of Biology.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-49, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: brigandt@ualberta.ca

Robert Burch

Robert Burch, Associate Professor Emeritus (PhD, University of Toronto)

Specialization: 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy (especially Heidegger and Hegel), Phenomenology, Philosophy of Technology, Philosophy and Literature, Kant.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-55, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: robert.burch@ualberta.ca

Phil Corkum

Phil Corkum, Associate Professor (PhD, University of California, Los Angeles)

Specialization: Ancient Philosophy, Metaphysics.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-66, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: phil.corkum@ualberta.ca


Neil Dalal

Neil Dalal, Assistant Professor (PhD, University of Texas, Austin)
(Joint appointment: Philosophy and Religious Studies)

Specialization: Philosophy, Advaita Vedanta, History of Indian Religions.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-66, (780) 492-3307
E-mail:  ndalal@ualberta.ca


Glenn Griener, Associate Professor (PhD, University of Western Ontario)

Specialization: Biomedical Ethics, Philosophy of Science, Philosophy of Social Science.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-67, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: glenn.griener@ualberta.ca

Cressida Heyes

Cressida Heyes , Professor and Canada Research Chair in Philosophy of Gender and Sexuality (PhD, McGill University)  (Joint appointment: Philosophy and Political Science)

Specialization: Feminist Philosophy, Contemporary Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of the Body, Wittgenstein, Foucault, Ethics.
Office: 11-27 H.M. Tory Building, (780) 492-9970
E-mail: cressida.heyes@ualberta.ca

Bruce Hunter

Bruce Hunter, Associate Professor Emeritus (PhD, Brown University)
(Post-retirement teaching contract until 2015)

Specialization: Theory of Knowledge, History of Philosophy.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-28, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: bruce.hunter@ualberta.ca

Bernie Linsky

Bernard Linsky, Professor (PhD, Stanford University)

Specialization: Philosophical Logic, Metaphysics, Early Analytic Philosophy (especially Bertrand Russell), Philosophy of Language.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-51, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: bernard.linsky@ualberta.ca


Kathrin Koslicki, Professor (PhD, MIT)

Specialization: Metaphysics, Ancient Philosophy (esp. Aristotle), Philosophy of Language.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-68, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: kathrin.koslicki@ualberta.ca

Marie-Eve Morin

Marie-Eve Morin, Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Undergraduate Studies (Dr. Phil, Albert-Ludwigs Universität Freiburg)

Specialization: 19th and 20th Century Continental Philosophy, Post-Structuralism, Deconstruction, Phenomenology, Existentialism, Structuralism, Philosophy of Literature.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-65, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: mmorin1@ualberta.ca

Howard Nye

Howard Nye, Assistant Professor (PhD, University of Michigan)

Specialization: Metaethics, Moral Psychology, Normative Ethics, Political Philosophy, and Applied Ethics.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-59, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: hnye@ualberta.ca

 Jeffry Pelletier

Francis Jeffry Pelletier, Long-term Visiting Professor (PhD, UCLA)

Specialization: Philosophy of Logic and Language, Modern Philosophical Analysis, Computational Linguistics, Artificial Intelligence, Cognitive Science, Ancient Philosophy.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-45, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: jeff.pelletier@ualberta.ca

Geoffrey Rockwell

Geoffrey Rockwell, Professor (PhD, University of Toronto)
(Joint appointment: Philosophy and Humanities Computing)

Specialization: Humanities Computing, Text Analysis and Philosophy of Technology.
Office: 3-67 Assiniboia Hall, (780) 248-1209
E-mail: geoffrey.rockwell@ualberta.ca.  Blog: theoreti.ca

 Alex Rueger

Alexander Rueger, Professor (Dr. Phil, University of Konstanz)

Specialization: History and Philosophy of Science (especially Physics), Kant, History of Aesthetics. 
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-64, (780) 492-3307
E-mail: alex.rueger@ualberta.ca

Amy Schmitter

Amy Schmitter, Professor and Associate Chair, Graduate Studies (PhD, University of Pittsburgh)

Specialization: History of Early Modern Philosophy, Philosophy of Art, History of Metaphysics, History of the Emotions, Feminist Approaches to the History of Philosophy.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-70, (780) 492-9030
E-mail: amy.schmitter@ualberta.ca

 Chloë Taylor

Chloë Taylor, Assistant Professor (PhD, University of Toronto)
(Joint appointment: Philosophy and Women's and Gender Studies)

Specialization: Social and Political Philosophy, Feminist Philosophy, 20th Century French Philosophy, especially Foucault, Animal Ethics, Philosophy of Food.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 1-02B, (780) 248-1186
E-mail: chloe3@ualberta.ca

Jennifer Welchman

Jennifer Welchman, Professor (PhD, Johns Hopkins University)

Specialization: Ethics, History of Ethics, Applied Ethics.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-69, (780) 492-8554
E-mail: jennifer.welchman@ualberta.ca


Robert A. Wilson

Robert A. Wilson, Professor (PhD, Cornell University)
(Joint appointment: Philosophy and Educational Policy Studies)

Specialization: Philosophy of Mind, Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Biology, Disability Studies.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 3-71, (780) 492-8481
E-mail: rwilson.robert@gmail.com
Jack Zupko

Jack Zupko, Professor and Department Chair (PhD, Cornell University)

Specialization: Medieval Philosophy, Metaphysics, Philosophy of Religion.
Office: Assiniboia Hall 2-55, (780) 492-0616
E-mail: zupko@ualberta.ca